Voyage Through the Americas (Marathon)

February 28, 2022
7:30 pm
Voyage Through the Americas (Marathon)
Florida Keys Concert Association

Voyage Through the Americas features unique combinations of piano, cello and percussion, and will take the listener on a sizzling journey through both hemispheres.


Aaron Copland (1900–1990): El Salón México (1932–1936; arr. Bernstein for Piano, 1941)

Michael Brown, piano, Ian David Rosenbaum, percussion

Leonard Bernstein (1918–1990): Three Meditations from Mass (version for piano, cello, and percussion) (1978)

Nicholas Canellakis, cello; Michael Brown, piano; Ian David Rosenbaum, percussion

 Samuel Barber (1910–1981): Souvenirs for Piano, Four Hands, op. 28 (1951–1952)

  1. Waltz
  2. Schottische
  3. Pas de deux
  4. Two-step
  5. Hesitation Tango
  6. Galop

Orion Weiss, Michael Brown, piano


Osvaldo Golijov (Born 1960): Mariel for Cello and Marimba (1999)

Nicholas Canellakis, cello; Ian David Rosenbaum, marimba

Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887–1959): A maré encheu from Guia prático for Solo Piano (1932)

 Heitor Villa-Lobos: O Polichinelo from A prole do bebê for Solo Piano (1918)

Michael Brown, piano

 Alberto Ginastera (1916–1983): Pampeana no. 2, Rhapsody for Cello and Piano, op. 21 (1950)

Nicholas Canellakis, cello; Michael Brown, piano

Scott Joplin (1868–1917): Solace: A Mexican Serenade (1909)

Scott Joplin: The Ragtime Dance (1902)

Orion Weiss, piano

George Gershwin (1898–1937): Cuban Overture for Piano, Four Hands, and Percussion (1932; four hands version arr. Gershwin, 1933)

Michael Brown and Orion Weiss, piano; Ian David Rosenbaum, percussion

*Artists, programs, dates and venues are subject to change.

© 2019 Florida Keys Concert Association |